Principles of Programming Languages


Call for Papers

POPL 2009
Wednesday 21 January to Friday 23 January 2009

Savannah, Georgia, USA



Important dates

Abstract submission 8 July 2008 (Tuesday)
Paper submission 15 July 2008 (Tuesday)
Author response period 18-19 September 2008 (Thursday-Friday)
Author notification 1 October 2008 (Wednesday)
Camera ready 3 November 2008 (Monday)
Conference 21-23 January 2009 (Wednesday-Friday)


The annual Symposium on Principles of Programming Languages is a forum for the discussion of all aspects of programming languages and systems, with emphasis on how principles underpin practice. Both theoretical and experimental papers are welcome, on topics ranging from formal frameworks to experience reports.

Advice to Authors

Submissions on a diversity of topics are sought, particularly ones that identify new research directions. POPL 2009 is not limited to topics discussed in previous symposia. Authors concerned about the appropriateness of a topic may communicate by electronic mail with the program chair prior to submission.

Explaining a known idea in a new way may make as strong a contribution as inventing a new one. Continuing a tradition established in POPL 2008, we encourage the submission of pearls: elegant essays that illustrate an idea, for example by developing a short program. (Advice on writing pearls can be found in the ICFP 2008 Call for Papers.) However, there is no formal separation of categories and no need to explicitly label pearls as such: ALL papers, whether pearl or otherwise, will be judged on a combination of correctness, significance, novelty, clarity, and elegance.

Each paper should explain its contributions in both general and technical terms, identifying what has been accomplished, explaining why it is significant, and comparing it with previous work. Authors should strive to make their papers understandable to a broad audience. More advice on writing technical papers can be found on the SIGPLAN Author Information page.

Submission guidelines

Authors should submit an abstract of at most 300 words and a full paper of no more than 12 pages (including bibliography and appendices). The submission deadline and length limitations are firm. Submissions that do not meet these guidelines may not be considered.

Submissions should be in standard ACM SIGPLAN conference format: two columns, nine-point font on a ten-point baseline, with columns 20pc (3.33in) wide and 54pc (9in) tall, with a column gutter of 2pc (0.33in). Detailed formatting guidelines are available on the SIGPLAN Author Information page, along with a LaTeX class file and template.

Papers must be submitted in PDF format and printable on US Letter size paper. Individuals for whom this requirement is a hardship should contact the program chair at least one week before the deadline.

Submitted papers must adhere to the SIGPLAN Republication Policy. Concurrent submissions to other conferences, workshops, journals, or similar forums of publication are not allowed.

The ACM copyright notice is not required of submissions, only of accepted papers. Authors of accepted papers will be required to sign the ACM copyright form. Proceedings will be published by ACM Press. Categories and keywords need not be included in the submission.

The URL for submission of abstracts and papers will be announced nearer to the deadline.

Author Response Period

Authors will have a 48-hour period to read and respond to the reviews of their papers before the PC meeting. Details of the response process will be announced by e-mail a few days beforehand.

Student Attendees

Students who have a paper accepted for the conference are offered student membership in SIGPLAN free for one year. As members of SIGPLAN they may apply for travel fellowships from the PAC fund.

Conference Chair: Zhong Shao
Deptartment of Computer Science
Yale University
51 Prospect Street
New Haven, CT 06520-8285, USA
shao-zhong at cs dot yale dot edu


Program Chair:


Benjamin C. Pierce
Deptartment of Computer & Information Science
University of Pennsylvania
3330 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6389, USA


Program Committee: 

Andrew Appel Princeton University
Anindya Banerjee Kansas State University
Nick Benton Microsoft
Bruno Blanchet CNRS, École Normale Supérieure & INRIA
James Cheney Edinburgh University
Matthew Flatt University of Utah
Giorgio Ghelli University of Pisa
Masahito Hasegawa Kyoto University
Hugo Herbelin INRIA
Michael Hicks University of Maryland, College Park
Martin Hofmann Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich
Susan Horwitz University of Wisconsin
Tony Hosking Purdue University
John Hughes Chalmers University of Technology
Atsushi Igarashi Kyoto University
Patricia Johann Rutgers University
James Leifer INRIA
Jens Palsberg UCLA
Leaf Petersen Intel
Frank Pfenning Carnegie Mellon University
Benjamin Pierce University of Pennsylvania
Sriram Rajamani Microsoft
David Sands Chalmers University of Technology
Guy Steele Sun Microsystems
Mitch Wand Northeastern University