The 35th Annual



Principles of Programming Languages

San Francisco, USA

Stanford Court Hotel

January 10-12, 2008




Local Arrangements

Call For Papers

Submission URL

Conference Organizers

Affiliated Events


Welcome to POPL 2008

POPL is the ACM SIGPLAN - SIGACT Symposium on Principles of Programming Languages.

Hotel Information

All the conference events will take place at The Stanford Court Hotel. We have reserved a room block at the price of USD189 + tax per room per day. Participants should contact the hotel directly to reserve a room. Be sure to mention the POPL event.

Additional information about travel and local arrangements can be found here.

POPL 2008 Important Dates

  • Early registration deadline: December 13, 2007
  • Hotel reservation deadline: December 28, 2007
  • Conference: January 10-12, 2008

PAC Funding

As in the past, students with an accepted paper may apply for travel fellowships from the PAC fund. However, PAC now also provides a new kind of grant, called Companion Travel Grants. These grants support travel costs for companions of SIGPLAN members with physical disabilities or small children. For details on the PAC program, see the PAC web page.

Scope of the Conference

The annual Symposium on Principles of Programming Languages is a forum for the discussion of all aspects of programming languages and systems, with emphasis on how principles underpin practice. Both theoretical and experimental papers are welcome, on topics ranging from formal frameworks to experience reports.

Submissions on a diversity of topics are sought, particularly ones that identify new research directions. POPL 2008 is not limited to topics discussed in previous symposia. Authors concerned about the appropriateness of a topic may communicate by electronic mail with the program chair prior to submission.

Conference Organizers

General Chair:

George Necula
UC Berkeley
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences


Program Chair:


Philip Wadler
University of Edinburgh
School of Informatics


Program Committee: 


Amal Ahmed

Toyota Technological Institute, Chicago

Lars Birkedal

ITU Copenhagen

Guy Blelloch

Carnegie-Mellon University

Gilad Bracha

Cadence Design Systems

Byron Cook

Microsoft Research

Thierry Coquand

Chalmers University

Vincent Danos

Paris VII

Robby Findler

University of Chicago

Neal Glew


Haruo Hosoya

University of Tokyo

Matthew Hennessy

University of Sussex

Ranjit Jhala

University of California, San Diego

Tobias Nipkow

Technische Universität München

James Noble

Victoria University of Wellington

Sanjiva Prasad

IIT Delhi

Zhong Shao

Yale University

Yannis Smaragdakis

University of Oregon

Eijiro Sumii

Tohoku University

Peter Thiemann

Universität Freiburg

Peter Van Roy

Université catholique de Louvain

Jan Vitek

Purdue University

Nobuko Yoshida

Imperial College London

Steve Zdancewic

University of Pennsylvania


Workshops Chair:


Yitzhak Mandelbaum, AT&T Research





Jeff Foster, University of Maryland





Sorin Lerner, UC San Diego


Affiliated Events


Suggestions or comments? Please contact Sorin Lerner (lerner at