CSE 127: Computer Security: Syllabus


Date Topic and reading
Tue, Jan. 8 Introduction
Reading:
Thu, Jan. 10 Buffer Overflows and Memory Safety
Reading:
Tue, Jan. 15 (Class canceled)
Thu, Jan. 17 Sandboxing and Legacy Software
Reading:
Tue, Jan. 22 Writing Secure Code
Reading:
Thu, Jan. 24 The TCP/IP Protocol Suite
Reading:
Tue, Jan. 29 Firewalls and NATs
Reading:
Thu, Jan. 31 Intrusion Detection and Denial of Service
Reading:
Tue, Feb. 5 SSH, SSL, and IPsec
Guest lecturer: Eric Rescorla
Slides: PDF
Reading: none
Thu, Feb. 7 Web Server Language Security
Tue, Feb. 12 Browser Security
Guest lecturer: Collin Jackson
Slides: PDF
Reading: none
Thu, Feb. 14 Web Server Security
Reading:
Tue, Feb. 19 Spam and Phishing
Reading:
Thu, Feb. 21 Worms and Botnets
Reading:
Tue, Feb. 26 Application security, concluded
Reading: none.
Thu, Feb. 28 Authentication
Reading:
Tue, Mar. 4 Access Control, Covert Channels, the Common Criteria, and Secure Operating Systems
Reading (skim):
Thu, Mar. 6 New and Advanced Topics, I: x86 Security
Reading:
Tue, Mar. 11 New and Advanced Topics, II: Voting
Reading:
Thu, Mar. 13 Wrapping Up
Tue, Mar. 18
3:00–6:00 PM
(Final Exam)

Navigation: CSE // CSE 127 // Syllabus