CSE 127: Computer Security: Syllabus


Date Topic and reading
Thu, Sep. 22 Introduction
Reading:
Tue, Sep. 27 Buffer Overflows and Memory Safety
Reading:
Thu, Sep. 29 No class—Rosh Hashana
Tue, Oct. 4 Legacy Software: Mitigation and Sandboxing
Reading:
Thu, Oct. 6 Secure Programming, Manually and with Tools
Reading:
Tue, Oct. 11 Systems Security Catchup
Reading: none
Thu, Oct. 13 Browsers and the Same-Origin Policy
Reading:
Tue, Oct. 18 The TCP/IP Protocol Suite
(HS traveling; guest lecturer: Stefan Savage; online slides)
Reading:
Thu, Oct. 20 Firewalls, NATs, and Intrusion Detection
(HS traveling; guest lecturer Chris Kanich; online slides)
Reading:
Tue, Oct. 25 Memory Vulnerabilities in Browsers
Reading:
Thu, Oct. 27 Midterm exam
Tue, Nov. 1 Cross-Origin Attacks
Reading:
Thu, Nov. 3 Frames: Communication and Clickjacking
Reading:
Tue, Nov. 8 HTTPS
Reading:
Thu, Nov. 10 Web Security Catchup
Reading: none
Tue, Nov. 15 Spam and Phishing
(HS traveling; guest lecturer: Kirill Levchenko; online slides)
Reading:
Thu, Nov. 17 Worms and Botnets
Reading:
Tue, Nov. 22 Authentication
Reading:
Thu, Nov. 24 No class—Thanksgiving
Tue, Nov. 29 Access Control
Reading:
Thu, Dec. 1 New and Advanced Topics: Voting Security
Reading:
Thu, Dec. 8
8:00–10:59 AM
(Final Exam)

Navigation: CSE // CSE 127 // Syllabus